Liquid Wandering

The fingers of my mind
Flounder and falter
Failing to cling to these memories
Those which flee from the terror in my eyes
My sight retracing lines and times gone by
Times which I was certain of having a firm grasp of
If it weren’t for these gelatinous claws
Scraping at the distance
Coming back with dirty fingernails
The kowhai, camellia,
Pine sap and Kaka
Whistles from the hollow of a tree trunk
The one seen from afar that should be committed
Treasured scenes why do you leave?
Searched for in wanting adventures
In appreciation
To appreciate sitting among ferns and bark and decaying foliage
To let the light oil ether of hard woods linger on nostrils
Breathing deeply to bring it into oneself and transmute its essence into experience
I read the wood clearing a poem at the gate
Prayers to say goodbye with a promise to meditate on
What was absorbed in meeting
Nature trends towards absorbing or absolving
To resolve and grow onwards
To reach and come back haunted
Flee from me memories
I would like to see myself growing as a blossom
But my skin receives me
We will learn to make do
The same as how I adjust my speech when I speak
To a child
To a beast
I will change my language to be understood by the world
The streets are turbulent
They absorb you and throw you about the tundra
To suffer the current and watch others be washed away
All there is to reach for is floating mirages
Which sink all the faster as you scramble to find solace inside

Published by

joellester

Joel Lester is a Musician, Composer, Poet and Writer from New Zealand. This blog is an online portfolio of his collected works. Joel is currently working on a book of poetry to be released next year, a novel, an album of original music, and several chamber ensemble pieces.

Leave a Reply

